Farmers Branch Historical Park – Farmers Branch, Texas
The Farmers Branch Historical Park contains 27 acres of land that proudly relates its history to those who come to visit. The Historical Park is an outdoor museum offering many opportunities for tours, educational programs, and special events. On the beautifully maintained grounds, guests can explore 12 historic structures dating from the 1840s to the 1940s. From the Gilbert House, which is the oldest structure still standing on its original foundation in Dallas County, to the school house which dates to the early 1900s, visitors can experience what life was really like in the early days in North Texas.
In 1986, the Farmers Branch Historical Park was founded to preserve and share the rich heritage of North Texas and the Farmers Branch. The cornerstones of the park are the 1937 Dodson House, home to the first mayor of Farmers Branch, and the 1856 Gilbert House, the oldest stone home in Dallas County still sitting on its original foundation. Since 1986, numerous other structures have been added including the original 1877 Depot and 1900 Schoolhouse, an 1885 Queen Anne Victorian Cottage, and log structures. Guests can barter for goods at the General Store, learn about chores that came with life on the frontier, or just sit in a rocking chair on the porch and ponder days gone by.
Extending south of the modern town center along the meandering Rawhide Creek, the 27-acre rural park interprets the period from the 1840s to the 1950s. Two restored original buildings and several rehabilitated structures relocated from other locations are intermingled with contemporary interpretive features. The Gilbert House, constructed in 1856 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988, is the oldest rock structure on its original foundation in Dallas County.
A newly introduced arbor and rose garden planted in the 1980s with historic varieties front the Queen Anne Victorian cottage relocated to the park from nearby. Brick walkways laid in a traditional running bond motif connect many of the structures with occasional paths comprised of fieldstone. Plant materials include post oaks, crape myrtles, and boxwood scattered across the mostly flat expanse.
A nature trail skirts the southern perimeter to follow the creek, winding through dense riparian woodland. The Park’s master plan was completed by Schrickle, Rollins, and Associates in 2007 to include a connection to the DART light rail.
The Historical Park welcomes more than 100,000 visitors each year and offers many opportunities from tours and educational programs to special events and lectures. Tours are available upon request.